Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Thanks to the effects of globalization, the gap between countries has been narrowed and international products have become more easily accessible. Personally, I postulate this trend a positive development.

To begin with, the availability of international products is advantageous for nations as well as their citizens. It enables consumers to purchase quality products regardless of their geographical location. For instance, a person living in Vietnam can easily possess branded devices from Apple or Microsoft, which are both American manufacturers. This can act as a facilitator for bridging the gaps among countries as the economic barrier among nations is one of the fundamental causes of international conflicts. Thus, with the mutual trade agreements reached, countries are now more aware of settling political unrest harmoniously and maintaining world peace.

Furthermore, both international and domestic manufacturers may benefit from this development. Oversea predominant companies can place their outlets and factories in developing countries, which is likely to benefit all the parties involved. The suppliers may experience a boost in sales while their clients can have more and better choices. What is more, local manufacturers are put under the pressure of improving their products in order not to be stamped out of the competition. These companies, therefore, can gain better recognition and become capable of expanding their market to other countries. As an illustration, Thai Duong, a formerly local Vietnamese company specializing in cosmetics and other healthcare products, is now a well-known brand in many parts of the world after its success in renewing its image to compete with manufacturers of the same kinds of products around the world.

To conclude, the fact that foreign products are now widely available has greatly and positively altered the world in terms of international relationships and economic development.