Some people do not go directly to college but travel or work for a short time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years it is far more normal for people to take a gap year to travel or work before attending university. While I accept that this trend could sometimes be beneficial, I believe that it is more likely to have adverse impacts.

On the one hand, the deferment of studying can bring about some advantages. Firstly, during the period in which people work or travel, they can accumulate invaluable first-hand experiences. For instance, one’s interpersonal skills and knowledge of diverse cultural settings could be significantly improved when he or she become cross-country travellers and meet new people. These all are the advantageous values that generally cannot be obtained from the vast majority of educational programs. Another possible upside to take into account is the fact that people can realize their real passion after this trial period. That is to say, highschool graduates will know whether the major they plan to opt for to study at university is really suitable for them or not after actually working in the field.

On the other hand, I would argue that the drawbacks of this trend are more notable than its benefits. One of the major problems that those who choose to be gap-year takers may be faced with is their lack of experience and knowledge. It is obvious that university education can provide young people with a lot of precise knowledge which is needed for them to be competent at work. Moreover, a period of not studying, regardless of its length, could discourage people from furthering the education afterwards. In other words, these individuals may find the academic journey less appealing after a period of enjoying the bliss of travelling freely or earning money. This can be detrimental in that proper education is crucial for people to advance in the constantly changing world of work.

In conclusion, it is my firm believe that the potential shortcomings of not going directly to college or university after finishing high school are more significant than the possible upsides.