Some people do not go directly to college but travel or work for a short time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is contended that studying postgraduate level or higher education would lead humankind to a brighter future. However, numerous young generations are choosing to work or travel for a while instead of going directly to universities these days. While there are divided opinions, I strongly opine that enrolling in college instantly is far from the best method.

It is impossible to argue against the risks when discovering the world or becoming inexperienced labour, chiefly financial issues. There are limited jobs for teenagers who have not been trained. Therefore, the living cost would be a challenge when they cannot afford utility bills, food, and accommodation fee. They could be the cost burden for their parents and their whole family.

On the other hand, taking gap years benefits adolescents by giving them time to truly understand themselves and find out the genuine career path as well as goals for life. Besides, student can join charity organizations; during these activities, it is easily to gain experiences and soft skills. Several surveys proved that working at these projects nurtures minors’ mind, soul and guides them to be independent people. In fact, numerous universities around the world encourage students to take gap years, namely Havard.

In brief, taking gap years are developing as a popular global trend; Meanwhile, this tactic is appropriate for certain people, especially who has high self-awareness.