Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years the issue of preserving the environment has attracted a great deal of public attention. Personally, I disagree with the idea that only the authorities and big organizations can carry out the task since the general population can also be of great help.

On the one hand, it is evident that effective governmental and organizational activities are necessary. By carefully legislating on the matter, governors will be able to deter people from causing harm to the surroundings. There are certainly people who will act only when they are bound to the law. For instance, Singapore, the cleanest country in the world, acquires its reputation as a result of the harsh penalties imposed on litter bugs. In addition, environment protection should be considered by businesses a part of their sustainable development. Instead of placing profit at top of their agenda, they had better produce environmentally friendly products and appropriately invest in proper waste treatment units.

Nevertheless, citizens of a country still play an irreplaceable role in improving the environment. Firstly and most importantly, they should strictly obey regulations concerning the surroundings. This basic yet efficient step is likely to make a huge difference. Secondly, household waste, which comprises a large proportion of the total amount discharged to the environment, needs to be reduced. The average Australian, for example, produces 1.5 tonnes of waste in a year. Should each person be more aware of curbing the amount of garbage produced, the whole society can go green. Another thing that can be done by residents is to minimize the amount of private traffic. A drop in the number of private motorized vehicles can bring about a significant decline in the amount of harmful gases emitted to the atmosphere, which is, without doubt, beneficial to our planet.

To conclude, while current governments and other organizations’ practices are important, we cannot deny the significance of the general public in protecting the environment.