Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion

There is a notion that it should be obligatory that undergraduates only take courses in such fields which are thought to be beneficial later as science and technology. Personally, I am in favour of the opposing perception which values students’ freedom of choice.

On the one hand, it is significantly easier for university students to advance in their academic and career path when they are given the right to opt for what to study. Only when they are allowed to pursue their genuine passions or interests can they attain the best results. Additionally, not every student possesses the same academic ability and intellectual level. Thus, to facilitate learning, there needs to be different subjects widely available for different groups of students to select. Another reason why the right to choose what to study matters is the fact that a considerable number of students may base their selection on the financial condition of their family. As a result, those from disadvantaged families might find it impossible to afford education in fields with high tuition fees.

On the other hand, those in support of shared compulsory curricula may argue that sufficient education in the areas of technology or science will provide students with easier access to jobs when they graduate from university. This can be attributed to the fact that there are increasingly vacant positions in such fields and that the income of those holding such positions is rather high compared to that in other areas. However, I believe that an extreme tendency towards particular fields of study can cause a serious imbalance, which will in turn lead to unemployment in those fields but a lack of workforce in others.

In conclusion, advocates of the two mentioned ideas may have their own ways to reason their beliefs. Anecdotally, it is unnecessary and ineffectual to impose such restriction on the subjects that a university student can study. They should be given the freedom to study whatever they find suitable for them in the interests of their future development.