As countries have developed there has been a trend towards smaller family sizes.Why does this happen?How does this affect society?

Nuclear families dominating the traditional joint families is quite visible these days. There has to be various reasons behind it. This essay will discuss autonomy and ambition as two major aspects for this happening, as well as, how this trend has detrimental effect in the form of loneliness and rise in emotional imbalance over the society.

To embark, autonomy is what every individual ask for these days, may it be a kid or a parent. To strengthen, evidently, many parents give a separate flat to their kids as a wedding gift so that both, parents and children can enjoy their part of freedom. Thus, priority these days is no interference. Nevertheless, ambition also plays a pivotal role in it. As, everyone seems to be career oriented and for the sake of their luxurious life, they are ready to sacrifice their own self, let alone, families. Hence, no question of joint families where small ones are also at stake.

On the other hand, this division of families are exacerbating the situation in the form of giving birth to the feeling of loneliness. For example, as per the US research 2014, surpisingly, more than 88% people living at urban places are suffering from loneliness. Apart from this, emotional imbalance is also one of the outcome of the aforementioned event. To highlight, increasing in suicide rates especially at juvenile ages can be put as a proof. Ironically, society is still following the culture of tiny families, blindly.

To encapsulate, tedious families are being overtaken by smaller ones and are doing no good to the society, in my views.