A country should spend money on skills training or vocational training for
practical work, rather than on university education. To what extent do you agree or
disagree?
It is common that in many countries, students are not encouraged to follow a vocational training
course. While nobody can deny the need for university graduates, I totally agree that
governments should provide funding for more people to qualify as electricians, plumbers or
other essential manual workers.
It is essential to continue to allocate resources to university education. In the sciences, there is a
growing demand for researchers and professionals in fields such as genetics, medicine and
leading-edge technology. Only through university training can school-leavers acquire a good
grasp of specialised areas of knowledge. For example, the search for a vaccine to combat the
coronavirus outbreak shows the need for virologists, statisticians and other academically-
trained experts in related areas. In terms of the humanities, universities play a leading role in
the formation of those creative individuals who pursue a successful career in literature, drama,
the arts and even in the advertising industry.
However, I completely agree with the argument that countries should prioritise expenditure on
vocational skills training. Firstly, such workers are vital when, for instance, new buildings are
constructed or when existing buildings have to be renovated or simply maintained. Indeed, in
many countries, a permanent maintenance staff of skilled tradesmen is employed in hospitals,
schools or museums, ensuring the safety of all who use the buildings. Secondly, in some
developed countries, there is an existing imbalance in the economy, resulting in graduate
unemployment, while at the same time there is a shortage of skilled labour. Governments in
those countries need, therefore, to work with employers to ensure that extra vocational training
is provided.
In conclusion, vocational training must be high on the agenda of governments to avoid a
shortage of practical, skilled employees, while investment should continue in the universities.