in some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for many people.

why is this a case?

Do you think it is a negative or positive situation?

People in some countries nowadays regard owning a home to be more significant than renting one. This essay will discuss the underlying reasons for this preference and elaborate on why it is a negative development.

There are two reasons for people’s preference for homeownership. To begin with, for some people, buying a house or an apartment means that they do not have to waste time on accommodation hunting when a rental contract expires. Therefore, they can be able to focus on the other important things such as marriage’s life. Second, these days a lot of people tend to buy a house with a mortgage since they know the exact amount of money they owe and also the regular amount they have to pay. This allows people to draw out a long-term financial plan in the future. However, this is not the case when they rent a house because they are subject to changes in the rental price made by landlords.

The tendency that many folks value homeownership over rented accommodation is negative because of the following reasons. Most houses or apartments have a very low liquidity which means they could not be easily exchanged by cash. As a result, people who are still redeeming their mortgages may not be able to spend money on the other important investments. Besides, while a tenant can easily terminate their rental contract if they are not satisfied with their current accommodation, it is very difficult for a homeowner to do the same. In other words, once a person made an unwise decision about buying a house that they later regret. They usually left with two options: either make the house available for rent or accept to live with a place they are not happy with.

In conclusion, many people in some countries prefer buying their own houses because they value the stability that owning a home provides and want to have clear future plans. However, unless the thorough considerations are made, homeowners may have to face some undesirable outcomes from such a decision.