Coutrries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time. To what extent do you agree ar disagree?

It seems evident that in some countries the daily basis working hours are longer than those in others. This practice is obviously based on the assumption that the harder work, the more prosperous economy. However, I believe that there are more influential factors than time for national development.

The holders of this view might think that investing more time in work contributes to more production, hence helping create more wealth. It is irrefutable that there is a direct link between how long a worker works and the outcome. For example, 10 hours of working could achieve a double result of 5 hours. However, it is not the production but productivity that is responsible for economic success. In some developing countries such as Vietnam and Thailand, the working time is longer but the respective GDP is lower than developed countries like the USA and Japan.

Besides, Prolonging working time actually imposes some incidental negative impact on a country's economy. The first one is the potential growing health care cost and because fatigue tends to harm the employee's health, therefore leading to more consumption of medical resources. In addition to the economic loss, the decreasing of workers on satisfaction can affect productivity negatively. For instance, Absenteeisms ans sick leaves are reported by many employers due to tiredness.

In conclusion, I personally argue that instead of prolonging working hours, the government is expected to enhance machines, engines, or applying up-to-date devices to boost productivity.