THE COVERAGE OF SPORT ON TELEVISION HAS INCREASED SIGNIFICANTLY AND THIS HAS AFFECTED LIVE SPORTS EVENTS. DO YOU BELIEVE THE ADVANTAGES OF INCREASING IMPORTANCE TO THE TELEVISED SPORT ARE GREATER THAN THE DISADVANTAGES?

The live telecast of sports on television has become an essential form of entertainment for the millions of sports lovers in recent years. Though there are few drawbacks to this development, the benefits of live sports broadcasts are more significant.

On the one hand, television coverage of sports events make the sports more popular and easily accessible to the people all over the world. That would mean that people from across the globe can witness the games by watching on television; otherwise, they may be denied because venues are restricted to a limited number of people. Besides, it would be unpractical to say all people can go far countries to watch their favourite sports. For example, when the football world cup held, many soccer fans all around the world view the world cup at the comfort of their homes. If not televised, it would deny them the opportunity to watch such an important event. Additionally, television played a crucial role in substantially increasing the popularity of sports such as badminton, hockey, etc. Further, it also makes the sports more appealing to viewers because of superior technology used like close-ups, slow motions, commentaries, etc., which make it very interesting. Finally, it generates a good revenue to the organizers and players.

On the other hand, the increased popularity of televised sports distracted many sports lovers from visiting the stadium and denied them the thrill of watching match directly with thousands of spectators which hardly they can find at their homes. Also, the local sports lost its fame because of the live telecast of national and international sports, and it also downgraded the morale of the local players due to the lack of spectator support.

In conclusion, the increasing coverage of sports events on television has greater benefits which outweigh the negative impacts which carry with them.