Crime rate is decreasing compared to the past due to the advance in technology as it can prevent and solve the crime. do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the advancements in technology has reduced and solved the number of crimes from the past. this essay completely agrees with this statement because it is not easy for criminals to run away and evidence of crime is always available.

Criminals find it harder to hide after committing crime. This is because they can be traced through their mobile phones and laptops. The idea of putting a Global Positioning System chip in devices like mobiles, cars, wrist watches and computers has made it easier to locate user's location. For example, according to a survey conducted last year by the Capital City Police, Islamabad, more than half of the criminals in their custody were caught by tracking their mobile phones and other electronic devices.

The proof of crime is easily available as compared to hte past. CCTV cameras are installed in many areas. As a result, the video recording is available with the security agencies installing it and with the property owners and can be easily accessed. Due to this fact, criminals try to keep theirselves out of trouble and rate of crimes tend to reduce. For instance, Mashriq Newspaper reported that crime rate in Karachi in 2016 decreased to 40 percent of the previous figure after video cameras were installed in homes, shopping malls, parking lots and on the road sides.

To conclude, advancing technology prevents and lowers down the number of felonies and thefts because of the fact that everyone's location is being constantly recorded and most of the places are equipped with the video recording devices.