Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity?

Nowadays, there have been some arguments that environmentally friendly transport such as cycling should prevail instead of those generating detrimental emissions. However, it could not become globally dominant accounted for its pace and the government should hold this responsibility.

Admittedly, the dominance of bicycles has been hampered in many countries due to several reasons. Firstly, people would spend more time on commuting due to its low pace. In fact, the labor force has more concern about the commuting time since the urbanization plans obligate them to locate further from the work places. Thus, they may prefer using cars or trains than cycling which operates in higher speed, reducing the number of its users on a regular basis. Furthermore, this activity also consumes a lot of energy during participation so it leads to the loss of physical stamina and concentration for users, causing the reduction of work efficiency during the work shift.

Indeed, there are many solutions to increase the number of people using it. Firstly, the government should play an essential role in increasing its popularity. Thanks to the innovation in traffic systems, users can have less intimidation to cars and trucks during traveling since they have their own free lanes to ride, ensuring their safety and reducing the possibility of collision and accidents. Besides, some cycling competitions may encourage residents to engage in practicing it, facilitating its habit within communities. To illustrate, in Taiwan, there are many public bicycles for everyone to hire and ride since authorities desire to enhance people’s fitness and endurance and mitigate the air pollution

In conclusion, although this activity is eco-friendly since it generates no detrimental emission to the environment, but its speed could be a huge drawback to widespread this transport. Therefore, the government should implement some urgent measures to support it.