Cyclists and car drivers sharing the same road cause some problems. What are the problems? What are the solutions?

There is no doubt that bicyclists and car drivers travelling together in the same lane should not cause trouble. This situation is understandable, and measures could certainly be taken to tackle the problems. In this essay, I will outline several reasons for this and put forward some feasible measures to address this issue.

We should know that if bicycles and motorcycles share the same lane while travelling, this will definitely cause these two main problems. First of all, accidents involving these two vehicles are inevitable. The rate of mortality for cyclists and motorbikes on the same road is higher than when they have their own lane. Bicycles are always the smallest and slowest means of transport, but cars or motorbikes move extremely quickly, and they are a lot bigger in size, so they will definitely have blind spots. So if the small bicycles are located in the blind spots, then tragic accidents will happen for sure. Secondly, if those vehicles meet a cyclist going in the opposite direction, the big vehicles will not brake in time, and the collision will definitely take place.

In order to deal with these problems, there has to be a way to tackle them. Firstly, limit the speed of traffic if they must share the same lane, and severely fine the vehicles that exceed the allowed speed. Second, if the road is wide enough, the government should divide the lanes for different vehicles to travel.

In conclusion, there are main contributors to the problem of bicyclists and car drivers travelling together at the same time, and several measures are suggested to put an end to the situation.