Dangerous sports such as car racing and boxing should be banned altogether. Do you support this proposal?

Sports are regarded as an indispensable form of entertainment and art which give impetus to the development of the economy and culture. However, there are innumerable sports nowadays containing high risk of injuries and blatant displays of violence. There have been some notions stating that these kinds of sports should be prohibited to prevent undesirable consequences. As far as I’m concerned, completely approve of this proposal.

First and foremost, these violent physical activities should be discouraged since violence has nothing to do with the basic philosophy of sports. The primary aim of sportmanship has always been crystal clear since time immemorial, which is to provide the opportunity for individuals to pit their natural and perceptual talents. More importantly, sports also promote the spirit of brotherhood and inculcate a sense of disciplines and safety. As a result, participants should be engaged in a safe, fair and inclusive environment instead of subjecting themselves to competitions imbued with excessive and dangerous use of force.

Additionally, sports such as car racing and wrestling may take their excruciating toll on the athletes. Sports which require brutal body contacts between players or risky activities are highly susceptible to serious accidents and injuries. When performing death-defying stunts, athletes are in a constant risk of facing minor to life-threatening injuries, which in some cases may even lead to fatality. The consequences of these accidents are sometimes devastating, as they include emotional trauma, permanent immobility and vegetative states.

Extreme sports can also be considered a catalyst for aggressive tendency among millenials nowadays. Sports such as boxing, rugby or ice hockey have no doubt gained a surge in popularity, and to make use of this advantage, TV sponsorships and stations decide to invest a huge amount of budget into broadcasing and promoting these sports. Because of this, many spectators, especially teenagers, are easily exposed to the brutal graphics where two opponents are trying to take down each other with blood-stained faces. As a result, they are highly likely to emulate those acts of brutality in real life since adolescents are still too young to work on their emotions and be cognizant of the influences around them.

To recapitulate, the proliferation of extreme sports in the sporting field has raised the alarm about the the normalization of violence in our contemporary culture. Therefore, it is safe to conclude that sports which spread roots of barbarity and suffering must be given a ban.