In the developed world, average life expectancy in increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of aging populations

There is no denying that there is a significant rise in the number of the elderly in the world, especially in industrialized countries. Unluckily, it exerts many negative effects on society as a whole. This essay will analyze these consequences and recommend some practical methods to handle this phenomenon.

It can be said that there are various impacts of the aging population. One of the anticipated effects is that this leads to the rise in the number of dependent people. In other words, more people are not of working age and, otherwise, fewer residents managing to participate in the labor market. The state of the shrinking workforce may be a significant factor influencing negatively on the national economy. Another adverse impact is that the elderly population may impose a financial burden on the social welfare fund. This is due to the fact that people at the advanced age would claim pension benefits while paying a lower tax. When the number of the elderly increase, the government must raise the tax to balance the welfare spending. Needless to say, adults who are at the working age would pay more money to shoulder this tax burden.

However, there are some effective ways that we could carry out to tackle the adverse effects mentioned above. Firstly, the authority should follow policies aimed at raising the retirement age, perhaps from 65 to 70. Take the country of Japan as an example. In this country, the elderly, if their health condition remains to be good, can continue working in certain jobs such as taxi driver, security guard or even manager. Another solution could be adopted is encouraging immigration from other countries, especially places having the young population like China, Vietnam or Brazil. To be more precise, this extra number of foreign workers will expand the workforce. As a result, domestic companies would be provided with a better human resource; therefore, they are more likely to grow faster. In general, this is a considerable force for the development of the national economy.

In conclusion, it can be said that the aging population brings many negative influences. Nevertheless, if these solutions mentioned above are implemented, this situation will be mitigated.