In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problem will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing population.

It is true that, as a result of the high standard of life, people are living longer, especially in the industrialized nations. Even though, this trend can be attributed to many problems for both the individuals and the nation, proper and effective management can decrease the problems that the older population faces today.

The first and foremost problem related to increase in average life expectancy is the financial burden. If a government has a larger number of retired people than able-bodied workers, they will receive only less revenue as tax. Also, the government has to pay a huge amount of money as pension funds to the senior citizens. Consequently, the government of such nations will go through some financial crisis. Furthermore, the longevity can also result in various health related hazards. As age increases, people are more vulnerable to certain geriatric ailments. For example, certain diseases like diabetes, arthritis and dementia are common in older adults, which requires adequate medical support and care. Thus, all these are the challenges that the individuals and the nations may encounter as a result of increased average life expectancy.

Nevertheless, there are effective solutions to decrease the problems related to increase in life expectancy. Firstly, the government has to increase the pension age of working people and encourage the elderly to keep themselves busy with whatever they can do contributing their share to the development of the nation. Secondly, the health related problems of senior citizens can be addressed by giving them timely health checkups and necessary medical interventions.

In conclusion, even if, there are problems like pension burden and health hazards as people began to live longer, increase pension age and proper health assistance can help to cater such challenges.