Everyday, millions of tons of food are wasted all over the world. Why do you think this is happening? And how can we solve this problems?

There is no exaggeration to say that each day a huge amount of foods is being wasted by the people around the world. There are various factors contributing to this trend. However, I believe that both the common people and the authorities should take effective measures to tackle this negative trend.

One apparent reason for food wastage is the due to the lack of appropriate plans, especially for the weekly menu in each household. People tend to buy lots of things even they don't need often driven by special offers in supermarkets, which will lead to food leftovers and finally wasting or throwing of foods. For example, some people prepare lots of food without any planning and preserve the partially used food in refrigerator, but usually forget to reuse results in expiry of food and finally dump it as waste. In addition, errors in industrial processing or any other compromise that diminishes quality of final food products also a biggest driving factor for food wastage. For instance, sometimes, due to some food safety errors, many food processing companies have to throw large quantities of food before transferring to retailers. Thus, both consumers and industries can cause food wastage through different ways.

One of the most effective solution to curb wastage of food is to plan carefully before purchasing and cooking foods and always try to buy only necessary things. Furthermore, the authorities should ensure having efficient technologies and production systems that better storage, harvesting, processing and the distribution process

To conclude, both the consumers and food industries have equal responsibilities in food wasting. So, they have to plan properly and utilize the available technologies to minimize food waste.