In the developed world average life expectancy is increasing What problems will this cause for individuals and society Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations

The development of medical science has undoubtedly improved the average life expectancy in developed countries. And, this will pose some issues in the near future, however, the governments can take some measures to tackle this kind of problem as seen.

As people are getting better health facilities, they are living longer than ever and it may cause several problems that need to be considered soon before it’s too late. Firstly, the huge population of the country will get older, thus the proportion of young labor will decrease. This means that the pension needs to be delivered to more persons, while the amount of taxes, which is one of the main sources of the pension, will surely decrease due to the lack of young labors and taxpayers. The pressure of financial burden will affect the whole nation and the youths have to pay more taxes to the government to maintain the balance between the revenue generated and expenses. And, it might also be the challenge for young individuals to take care of their old parents or relatives and also earn at the same time.

In order to deal with the above obstacles, authorities can take several steps as discussed ahead. Above all, increasing the retirement age from 60 to 70 can help a lot to control the aged population. Nowadays, senior citizens are good enough to complete their jobs due to better health care. Another solution would be to simplify the immigration policies in order to increase the number of younger generations who are supposed to pay taxes, hence the financial status of the country will become strong. Furthermore, the usage of national funds needs to be redistributed. More money should be spent on vital healthcare, accommodation, and transportation rather than some leisure facilities, for example.

To sum up, a large number of the aged population poses potential problems that can be successfully handled by making some policy modifications by the governments of the concerned nations.