Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for e.g., through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern world, due to technological progress, we are always being watched. Some people might think that such monitoring systems bring a bit of drawback too. However, I support the positive side of it and agree with those who think such technologies are more beneficial.

Those who oppose the digital monitoring technology may argue that such systems disturb our personal freedom. This is because since our every movement is being tracked, some of us may feel uneasy and sometimes even insecure. For example, when we are fetching money from ATM, the camera installed in the booth is recording our every activity.

Sometimes we may feel uncomfortable as we do not know what they will do with the footage. As a result of these today, some people do not prefer to enjoy their leisure time in public places as they used to do in the past.

However, I think that like any other technology this innovation also brings endless benefits to our daily living. Out of these, the most significant one is that it makes our security system ever stronger. For example, unlike a few decades ago, now, we can refer the CCTV footage to catch a criminal or investigate a crime. Thus, we can speed up the investigation process and make the trial more efficient. Similarly, we can get immediate notification if someone is in danger. We can track find our lost phones and even vehicles by equipping GPS tracking systems on them. Therefore, I think, it makes us feel more secure, rather than insecure.

In conclusion, despite several arguments against the digital monitoring system, I strongly support this system as it makes our day-to-day life more secure and boosts efficiency in the security system.