In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of aging populations.

The question surrounding the potential pitfall of ever-increasing lifespan still remains, especially among members of developed countries. It goes without saying that this may be a positive trend, however, in fact, they give some negative influences on individuals and society. Therefore, some solutions should be proposed to prevent this issue.

Aspects to consider regarding the serious impact of extending lifespan concern the labor force and economy among these countries. It can be observed that since people tend to get married and give birth much later than they used to, society witnesses a lack of human resources in quantity and quality. As a consequence, lessening the percentage of young laborers and growing that of the older will minimize the creation and working capacity, then the economy of a country. Another aspect cannot be overlooked is bearing the burden on the government shoulder. If the number of the older or out of the labor force are on the rise continuously, the government is required to pour more cash on the healthcare system, types of insurance and so on.

On that basis, to solve this problem, some worthy methods should be taken into consideration by the government. It is important to highlight that some positive encouragement policies should be drawn by the government in order to engage people’s interest in marriage and birth. For instance, people will pay no taxes in one or two years after marriage, or their children will be provided a free-paid education until they are eighteen years old. On the other hand, expanding the retirement age can be taken into accounts as well. Instead of retiring at fifty-five or sixty years old, the government can renew the policy which allows people to approach their retirement two or five years later than before.

In conclusion, though longer life expectancy can be a trend, it, in general, can cause pessimistic effects on the economy. Once developed countries wish to sustain their position, they should take action towards this problem immediately.