Differences between countries have become less evident. For example, nowadays the same films, fashions, brands and TV programmes are found worldwide. To what extend do you think the disadvantages of this outweigh its advantages?

Today many of us are familiar with the term “the flat world” referring to the world as a big territory which means that we can buy and sell almost everything without going out of our country. This situation, actually, has pros and cons, but in my opinion, the benefits of this are not as many as the drawbacks it brings to us.

At first, it is no denying that many countries, especially the undeveloped and developing countries, are beneficial from this trend. The people of those countries have the opportunities to approach the up-to-date products which are only present in the developed countries. In term of national economy, the capital from rich countries will move to developing countries to invest with the purpose of utilizing the cheap labor cost and land.

However, there are the other side of the picture. Although the people of undeveloped and developing countries may enjoy the products producing by a foreign companies, there are many concerns that it will cause the impact on the local economies and cultures when the foreign products are dominant in the market. Furthermore, the industrial pollution caused by the foreign factories that normally apply the out-of-date technologies are discovered more and more in those undeveloped and developing countries. By this way, the gap between the rich and the poor countries will become wider and wider.

In summary, despite the advantages of “the flat world”, I still believe that the disadvantages it has are giving the world plenty of challenges. And it surely need to be considered and evaluated cautiously by the government of every country around the world.