Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Children over the age of 15 should be allowed to vote.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Voting is a right and duty of every citizen which should be followed strictly.Although, this does not mean that anyone should be able to vote. Children especially below the age of 18 should not be given this burden as they say: Great power comes with great responsibility.

Children are known to be naive and innocent by heart, and are also known to be politically unaware. Generally speaking, they lack the experience and knowledge of what will benefit the society, as well as them as an individual of that particular society. Take for example, a political campaign propounding that they would reduce unemployment by providing training sessions. This is a generally good solution to battle unemployment, however it does not concern children below the age of 18. Thus, they would not be able to understand what impact these propositions would have in their society. They might even go far, as to reject the candidate as they do not find the new rules comphrehensible.

A child of age 15, is generally considered a minor. Being in this age group imposes them not liable to sever legal punishments such as the infamous death sentence. As they are young and immature, the legal system has to be lenient with them. But, there are politicians who take advantage of it, by manipulating minors. They do as they are told , either by threat or by reward and it's mostly done by using peer pressure. Hence, it would not be fitting to involve children in the dirty game of politics.

I would like to conclude, that children below 15 should not be given the opportunity to vote. As they are unable to make the right decisions for themselves, let alone the nation. It would be disasterous to put the future of a nation in naive and unaware children, who although have their own concern for the nation, but they do not have the maturity to comprehend the politics behind elections and political parties