When schools do not have enough funding or teachers, some people think physical education classes should be cut, while others believe that courses in art and music should be eliminated first. Which do you think is preferable, and why?

Schools should be provide proper funding from the government and parents consider it utmost important that their ward's school fee be paid within the deadline. In failing to do so, would cause severe problems to the proper functioning of the school and in the worst plausible scenario, teachers of specific subjects would be laid off. Although, sports and arts are equally important extra-curricular activities, in dire situations one must be sacrificed. Rationally speaking, the faculty of arts and music should be laid off respectfully.

Firstly, arts and music depend on whiteboards and instruments respectively. No doubt, mentors are needed to guide the children and hone their skills. However, as drastic situations causing the school to cancel these classes, would not affect as much as it would have if sport sessions were cancelled. The primary reason being that instruments and art materials are domestic objects, to which the students can easily practice at their own homes. But sports require a gymnasium and generally, a more wider playground than the gardens seen at home. To illustrate, consider an athelete who is preparing for the national 100 meter race. To practice he or she would require a 100 meter strip of a clean and straight lane. Additionally, other students who are about to compete in the same are required to race together. This provides a benchmark for each student as to how they are performing and it cannot be done without the proper conducive environment.

Secondly, tutors of arts and music are available even after school. They sometimes also visit the student's home as private tutors and there is almost no distinction in the quality of training than they would have recived at school. Unfortunately, this level of flexibility is not available in physical education classes. Obviously, a teacher cannot provide basketball lessons in the backyard of a student's home which would just be ridiculuous! Furthermore, the essence of sports lies in teamwork, which would require every student to be available at a common location, thus private sport tutoring is not feasible.

All in all, I would conclude that sport lessons cannot be compromised whereas subjects such as music and art, can be adjusted to private tutoring mode. In essence, you would actually not be sacrificing any course, since the students would be able to obtain a similar training outside the school environment. And in doing so, sport lessons at school can be continued without any obstructions.