Do you support that the nuclear technology should be used for constructive purposes?

Use your own knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

There are those who are of the opinion that nuclear technology could wipe out the entire population of people. However, I support the notion that nuclear energy has proven itself as beneficial to the society especially because it is a source of energy in some countries.

It is true that nuclear technology serves a useful purpose in the military as there are powerful and mighty countries who use it to make weapons good enough to create mass destruction. This enables them to pose as a threat to other countries but could also destroy the area where nuclear power stations are built if the energy source is not properly handled. Such case happened recently in Russia where two major explosions occurred within two weeks which made the people swarm in different pharmacies looking for iodine or iodine-containing medications to protect themselves from nuclear radiation.

However, nuclear technology can benefit the society if used on its advantage because it serves as a perfect source of energy. Initially, it is highly expensive to build nuclear power plants but in the long term, this goes down at a significant rate as the materials used to make nuclear energy is seen as cost-effective. In the USA, there are a lot of nuclear power plants provide energy to a wide range of areas that other energy sources are not able to give.

Moreover, nuclear energy helps reduce global warming because they do not emit high levels of carbon excess in the atmosphere. The smoke formation seen in many nuclear power plants is water vapor coming from the inside of the power source which is not harmful to the surrounding area. As a result, these plants are able to provide energy to the society without adding up to the current problem with pollution.

As a whole, some may think that nuclear technology can cause chaos as is being used in the military sector. However, I predominantly support the notion that it serves a good use to the society if being used in a more constructive way.