Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are those of the opinion that disclosure of information in scientific research, business and the academic world is acceptable. Nevertheless, there are those who oppose this view and instead claim that information is too critical to be disclosed instantly.

Those who support the notion that total disclosure of information can be done is linked to the provision of additional knowledge in terms of science, trade and education. As more people become aware, suggestions, recommendations and support are provided from various resources to make new improvements and discoveries for a better quality of life. This is apparent in some countries in Asia, and Africa, plastics have already been replaced with biodegradable packaging. Aside from this, global awareness is highly regarded in keeping the safety of humanity because this prevents catastrophic events and world crisis from taking place. In fact, disease outbreaks like Ebola virus and extreme weather conditions like Hurricane Katrina in the United States may jeopardize the community. Instituting precautionary measures activates the primary level of prevention.

However, there are those who subscribe to the belief and assert that there should be limitations in information dissemination. In the field of business and technology, data privacy is well-highlighted. Duplication of information could lead to a more advanced finding or a similar one which puts the intellectual property rights of the originator at risk. Furthermore, such information can pave way to the increasing value of an item. The final output is usually what the consumers want to see. In 200 BC, China hid an important information on the process of making porcelain for 1000 years which made it a highly valuable product in world trade and was even termed as white gold.

In summary, although there are countless reasons why information needs to be shared completely, I do not hold the same view. Data privacy is important at some aspects as disclosing information may change the outcome of a process.