Some people believe that it is good to share as much as information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.Discuss both these views and

Nowadays we could easily find a sea of information which is shared widely on the internet with the click of a mouse. However, whether information relevant to various of scientific research, business and educational world should be shared as much as we can or there is some information that is too precious to provide willingly and readily has caused heated debate. My view is that it should only be shared freely in particular circumstances.

First, there is no doubt that sharing data in some cases, especially in business could be dangerous. More specifically, information type such as trade secrets could be used as a means to create an enterprise that offers an advantage over competitors. Indeed, If trade secrets are shared freely, firms risk losing their valuable information when employees are hired by its rivals. For example, in early 2019 Tesla sued Cao for allegedly stealing trade secrets related to Autopilot and bringing them to Chinese EV startup Xiaopeng Motors where Cao is now the head of perception. Despite being shared in a small group of 40 employees, it has caused a great loss for Tesla.

On the other hand, it is often said that sharing information freely in scientific research and educational world benefits society. This is simply because by learning valuable experience and vast knowledge that pioneers have accumulated over the years, the research journey for followers will be shortened a lot since they do not make the same mistakes and thus enabling rapid scientific progression and development. However, it will be very unsafe if some scientific breakthroughs fall into the wrong hands. For instance, He Jiankui - a Chinese scientist - shocked the world in 2018 when he announced that twin girls Lulu and Nana had been born with modified DNA to make them resistant to HIV, which he had managed using a gene-editing tool developed by other scientists. His action broke the laws in China since it’s unethical and it can have unintended consequences for the babies later in life or for future generations.

In conclusion, distribution information without constraint might be useful in certain aspects but can also be harmful. Although some believe people should give as much knowledge as possible, I strongly believe the opposite. People should be careful and safeguard some sensitive information.