Doctors recommend that older people should get regular exercise. However, many older people do not take enough exercise. What could be the reasons for this? What can be done to encourage them to take exercise?

Exercise is the key to keep healthy and wealthy in life according to medical care professionals. Meanwhile, senior citizens do not live a sporty life and do not work-out sufficiently due to their age. In my point of view, I believe that elderly people have fear of getting injured from exercise and do not take chance to do exercise, but family ought to support and encourage them to follow a healthy life.

There are certain reasons behind old age people who forbear from the workout. Firstly, the old generation is not healthy and active in the first place. In other words, as people's life expectancy increases people got weaker and do not have enough stamina to perform certain physical exercises. Due to this, they always have fear of getting injured from exercise and get it away from it. Secondly, most of them find it too boring, feel lazy to go to the gym and some of them do not have a purpose in life anymore, therefore, they do not try to do exercises and become lethargic in their lives. This is because any physical activity requires more energy, dedication, and desire to improve.

One of the ways to tackle the issue, since exercise provides uncountable benefits to the health of humans. It is important for the elderly to overcome this fear of injury; family should support their senior members and help them to teach some light form of exercise rather than heavier ones. Even these types of exercise do not push more stress on old people's muscles. Another considerable solution is the creation of social clubs for the older generation where they can easily meet new people of their age and encourage by showing their peers when they perform different group programs such as yoga and stretching.

To conclude, seniors are unenthusiastic towards exercise due to fear of injury and slackness. However, it could be solved by taking aid from family and implementing social clubs for seniors.