In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on society?

Statistics show that in many recent years, there has been an upward trend in the number of elderly worldwide. From my point of view, this development has brought us more drawbacks than benefits for society.

The growth of the senior population has caused many negative effects on the country's economy and societies. First and foremost, as life expectancy increases, more money is needed to pay for pension as well as improve social programmes. In other words, the more people retire, the fewer are left to work, which creates an economic hole since there will be a burden on the national budget and young people with the increase in taxes and bills. In addition, as people reach their twilight years, they are more likely to face health problems, which will put a huge impact on the requirement to develop the healthcare system.

On the contrary, there are some certain positive aspects of this development. The first point to consider is the old people are more experienced and can contribute largely by counselling the younger generation. There are some professions like teaching where an experienced teacher can be more charitable than a young teacher. Finally, since young members of a family are busy outside and cannot manage time to share with kids, so the older people can be good companions to those kids and can help them to raise in a family environment.

In conclusion, the considerable extension of life expectancy has put a strain on health care and made the workforce less productive. It will influence the economic development of a country, although we can make good use of senior worker's wisdom.