Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small local business are unable to compete, Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

To what extend do you agree or disagree.

In the modern world, as a result of the high penetration of supermarkets, many local businesses have died out. Although it is agrued that the decimation of small-scale enterprises will result in the disappearance of local societies, I totally disagree with this point of view.

Many new supermarkets and shopping malls are emerging all over the world. It is difficult for small businesses in local areas to compete with them. There are several reasons for this. Firstly, beautiful architectures and other facilities attract more and more people towards supermarkets. Shopping is no longer just buying things, but it is also a kind of entertainment for people in modern society. Secondly, supermarkets make shopping easier for people as they can buy all the items which are necessary in one place. Going to different shops for getting different items is tedious and time-consuming. Thirdly, the merchandises are various and competitive in the supermarket so that shoppers can buy foods at lower prices compared with buying at local stores.

However, the closure of local businesses will not lead to the death of a community. People live happily in localities even if local shops are not available. As a result of the growth of technology and the global economy, people now have enough money and transportation facilities to travel to big markets in distant places. Therefore it is not necessary for them to depend on nearby local shops to meet their needs. For example, metro trains which can take people faster to shopping malls are now available. On the other hand, communities still survive through social events, clubs, or other institutions in society. Also, there are a number of shops which will not be affected by supermarkets due to their unique goods such as traditional or top quality products.

In conclusion, although the termination of regional shops may affect the local communities negatively to a small extent, it will not threaten their existence.