Environmental problems are too big for individual countries and individual people to address. We have reached the stage where the only way to protect the environment is to address it at an international level. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, it is common to see that a new environmental protection agreement has been signed in United Nation from the news. Therefore, some people start to wonder there is nothing they can do to protect the environment, and the tax they paid to the country for protecting environment was also useless. However, I doubt that those people’s idea was correct.

To begin with, United Nation is a powerful organization to lead almost every countries on earth to follow the newest policy, which can reduce the pollution and protect the environment more efficiently. For example, the Kyoto Agreement, that orders not only the developed countries but also developing counties to watch and control their carbon emission during the certain years. It is impossible to compare a single country’s effort to the group of nations’ contribution. Furthermore, UN has the resource from all nations to enable the agreement to work: the wealthy budget and the advanced technologies. Those elements can not be equipped by a single nation.

But it is not to say that, individual country or people can not do anything. The effort of combination between citizen and nations can not be ignored. Taking China as an example, there are 20% of entire population on the earth are in this country. If the government could encourage their citizens to pay closer attention to the environmental protection, using recycle bags to prevent from the white-pollution, purchasing hy-bird cars to reduce the green gas emission and avoiding use of disposable products, then it can be significantly positive effort to the world wide environmental issue.

In sum, it is convincing that, the international cooperation can provide the generally correct direction to protect the environment, however, the individual also can not be ignored because the effort from them is also the key to solve this problem.