Euthanasia is the practice of ending the life of terminally ill patients or someone in a great pain. A few countries in the world allow euthanasia to be praticed by doctors, though it is still a very controversial issue?

What is your opinion on the matter?

Euthanasia, recently, is known as assisted suicide or is took into consideration as mercy killing, which means to take a deliberate action in order to help terminal patients end the intractable suffering and pain. Despite the public disagreement in many countries, euthanasia is still legalised in somewhere around the world. From my perspective, I strongly believe that there are some meaningful and convincing reasons to allow euthanasia worldwide.

Firstly, voluntary euthanasia does not violate the human right because of patients' choice. The cornerstone of liberal democracies is the freedom of choice; and for those who suffer from terrible pain, making their own decision to terminate their life is admittedly legal since that is their competence. Additionally, only patients who suffer intense pain experience what and how those feelings affect to their life quality, which noone can fully appriciate. Although medical treatment is able to reduce the physical pain, the emotional pain of losing independence and becoming a family's burden is impossible to refuse. Thus, euthanasia is the most effective way so as to patients overcome those horrible emotions and make them satisfy with life as much as possible. Finally, assisted death should be allowed. People, who witness the slow death of others, could convince that euthanasia is wholly suggested to be conducted by dotors. At the later date, instead of tolerating the extreme pain, it is much better for patients to be put to the death as wel as ending the emotional suffering of their beloved family. Futhermore, it is more humane to allow peole to choose to terminate that great pain.

Nonetheless, some people believe that those above reasons are not reliable and too convincing to let the public accept euthanasia. When advanced medical technology is drastically developing, painkillers and antibiotics can tackle the seriouspain. In other words, patients do not need to be disappointed and choose euthanasia. Moreover, it is totally wrong despite mercy killing. Somehow, patients are in a coma and euthanasia is their family's choice, which is illegal because noone could be competent to decide other's life.

In conclusion, euthanasia cound be a positive option for those who suffer from both physical and emotional pain. The crictics are still defensing against this stance, but people have their own choice and government has no right to withhold their wishes.