In the future, it seems it will be more difficult to live on Earth. Some people think that more money should be spent on researching other planets to live, such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to overpopulation, lack of space is actually a fundamental issue worldwide, so it is said that the investment for investigating a new planet is admittedly essential. From my perspective, I partly agree that it is practical to put money into planet researches.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why seeking new planet should be supported. Firstly, because of the significant increase of human population, the globe has no more spacious areas for them to live in. For example, in 2017, it is just 29% of the Earth covered by land, but the global population is shooting up over 9 billion people. In other words, were human only to destroy all of wild habitats, they would have enough space to survive. Secondly, there is no doubt that naturally unrenewable resources are gradually scarce; and finding another source, in terms of industrialization and modernization, is extremely emergency. Thus, planet investigation, which is invested by the government or any international organizations, is the most opportune, effective and realistic way to tackle those problems.

On the other hand, in spite of these above agreements, it is argued that spending money for this kind of research is wasteful and impractical. In reality, despite the same solar system, no planet could bear resemblance to the Earth. Air, water, soil and especially gravity, are the most typical characteristics that human is able to tolerate and accommodate to live in. By the way of illustration, although a new planet – such as Mars – has a diversified source of needed materials and some similarities with the globe, liquid water cannot exist in its surface. That means only if human equip the innovational techniques which are frequently costly to take the underground water, they could survive in Mars. Additionally, instead of wasting money to carry out the expensive and unreliable researches, government should pay more attention to control the birth rate as well as design the high-rise building to deal with overpopulation.

In conclusion, a new planet could be taken into consideration as the solution for lack of space. However, to ensure which planet human could live in requires an enormous investment to research. Looking for the solution is positive and necessary, but making it become a reality is much more important.