It is more important for school children to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the local historical events play a vital role in terms of children education rather than the past of the world. From my perspective, I partly agree with this stance because of several primary grounds.

On the one hand, the specific details in local history can be considered as the fundamental basis in order to improve and develop both economy and society in every country, meaning that the correlations in the bygone days might be used as a tool to determine and adjust the future plans in terms of country development. Secondly, were children to study their national history, the basic information can be collected and encouraged, which results in their attention in the national policy and human rights since they completely mature.

On the other hand, there is no doubt that the international relationships as well as the global institutions are partly based on the world history. A clear illustration of this is that developed countries, which contributed to cause the detrimental damages during the war, try to financially support others to help them increase their economy and the global site as well. Besides, although the information of the global past is more general than the local history, it does not mean children who are the next generation cannot effectively apply in the reality. Such general historical events are useful to widen children’s knowledge and stimulate them to approach the overseas, experience the diversity culture, comprehend developing institutions of other countries, and then, transfer into their own ideas, which are utterly applied to develop their country, or especially their local community.

In conclusion, both local and global history, depending on variety cases, have differently important roles. Instead of only focusing on one of them, school systems should design and divide logically.