Some people claim that not enough of the waste from home is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

There is no doubt that recycling plays a vital role to tackle with environmental issue. It is said that governments should introduce a new law to stimulate people to recycle their housing waste. From my perspective, I do not agree with this stance because of several grounds.

In reality,if the governments want to encourage domestic waste recycling, laws are not the only possible measure. It is not only because people do not absolutely volunteer to do that, but it is impossible to make recyling become a positive habit in their life. Besides, instead of obligating people follow the recylcing laws, the other ways can be considered to make people do more recycling. By using communication media, the information about recycling and its helpfulness can be expanded into community, and then, more and more people can realize the necessary and essential role of recycling in both financial effects and environmental protection. Furthermore, the governments can organize the field trips for local people to visit the recycling factories, where they can improve their consciousness as well as be trained how to recycle their housing ways; after that, they can try to frequently practice those knowledge at home.

Secondly, it is utterly possible for governments to do more practical and reliable activities rather than lanching the recycling legislation. The clear illistration of this is that the research on recycling can be carriout in local community. A handful of families can join to try the trial models such as making fertilizers from food waste to recognize how efficient and reasonable they are, after that, because of these effective results, other families can be a tendency of recycling as much as posible. Moreover, the governments can improve the educational systems by adding lessons about recycling. Were the students to be taught about recycling, they would realise accurately the vital role of recycle and possibly make the future life better.

In conclusion, although introducing a recycling obligation is necessary, the governments should pay more attention to improve people's awareness as well as conduct other sustainable measures in order to encourage peple do more recycling than they used to be.