Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

The importance of accessibility to medical care cannot be over-emphasized. It has been suggested that all nations should render unpaid medication even though it lacks the modern medicare due to its exorbitant rate. I completely disagree with this because government needs the token paid for maintenance of the facility and the experts involved will have to be paid.

To begin with, the most probable reason why health services should not be free is because monies paid would be utilised keeping the hospital in good shape. While it is true that medical services are important entitlement of citizens, it is pertinent that they are made to pay for the attention they get because running costs would be heavily on the state. To illustrate this, the primary health care system in most communities in Abuja are dilapidated due to lack of enough fund to meet the routine needs to make it properly function. As a result of this reason, people should be made to pay for the medication received.

More so, the reason why patients should pay for their treatment is to support government's effort in the remuneration of employees. The personnel employed to care for the sick are always at work and it is important that they get rewarded for their jobs, if not they would not be motivated to work. For instance, the University of Abuja Teaching Hospital has witnessed low staff performance due to poor or no remuneration. Thus, payment for medicals is indispensable.

To conclude, it has been a debate whether charges for health service deliveries should be dispensed with, I disagree with this view due to its importance in overhead costs and payment of workforce.