Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the opinion?

It is true that an increasing number of languages are gradually disappearing from our lives. Some people argue that this trend enables people to enjoy an easier life. I largely agree with the opinion.

There is no doubt a decreasing number of languages benefits individual’s life in various aspects. First of all, fewer languages means governments can spend cut on the investment of interpretation services. With the saving on public funds to be allocated to the construction of infrastructures like schools and public transport system, the quality of life will be tremendously improved. Moreover, in regards to the effectiveness of communication, the extinction of some dialects reduces the misunderstanding and disputes among people. This is because every language is structured by particular grammatical rules and some unique words. The inappropriate utilisation of the language undoubtedly generates utter confusions.

Admittedly, those who oppose the above views may also possess some sound points. In particular, the disappearance of certain languages leads to the loss of some knowledge, which impairs the inheritance and development of the knowledge system, especially when it comes to the study of traditional cultures and customs. Nevertheless, those kind of knowledge system as the languages used to record the information are usually spoken by the specific minority groups. The dwindling of these dialects is unlikely to impact our normal lives. Therefore, it is unreasonable to say people’s daily life will be negatively influenced by fewer languages.

In conclusion, although the die out of some languages causes some loss of cultural and knowledge heritage, I am support of the idea that this trend makes our lives more convenient and enjoyable.