Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

What do you agree or disagree with this point?

We can see the disappearance of several languages annually in the world. Some say it does not matter most because people can communicate better in the fast developing world. Anyhow, we still miss something with extinct languages. I would like to say something about this matter.

On the one hand, in our time globalisation is becoming faster and the languages barrier is also disappearing at the corresponding rate. It is not a difficult thing for two persons who are living in different countries to communicate nowadays. We have used English, French, Russian, Chinese or Spanish everywhere. Easy communication makes life more comfortable and we all have a better understanding of our world. Moreover, knowledge and opportunities are open to those who know a favourite foreign language, and it goes with fortune, career or even love. A person who does not need to read well in four or five languages can still lead a perfect life. For me, it is an undeniable fact that fewer languages have made people better understanding and a better quality of life.

People use languages to pass on the knowledge, information, customs, history, etc. So when there are so many peoples, there are so many languages. For me, all styles are equal. When one language is lost, we also lose a huge source of knowledge and culture. Furthermore, human beings cannot get the culture without understanding writer’s language. For example, in Vietnam, Kieu’s tale was written by Nguyen Du, he wrote in Nom (this is the Vietnamese language in the 18th century). Now very few Vietnamese people can read Kieu’s tale in its original language. Modern Vietnamese people have nothing to do with its ancient writing.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the extinction of languages is not a crucial problem because the life is more relaxed than more languages. Personally, I feel regretful to see that some languages die out. I believe the government should record all languages, so that young generations know about history, culture, a way of life and many other things about people who once lived on our Earth.