Some people think that criminals should be given longer terms in prison, so as to reduce the crime rate.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Crime is a serious and growing issue in the most societies. While I accept that criminals should be stayed longer sentences to cut down the number of crime, I would argue that government should consider the reasons for the offence to punish a suitable prison time.

On the one hand, there are some reasons to explain criminals should be in prison for a long time to set the example. The convincing argument is that it is likely to be the best solution to uphold an ordered society. As we know, the dangerous social crimes such as murder or assault are serious harm to the community. Therefore, if those wrongdoers commit crimes and get longer sentences, people will live in a safe and secure environment. It is also argued that giving a long time of life imprisonment aims at doing justice for all. All citizens should obey the law and follow the rules stipulated by the government. Even though you hold a high office, you will be in jail if you break the law.

With further consideration, I would argue that we should explore the causes of crime to have a fair trial. Crime usually originates from unemployment, poverty and illiteracy. For example, he or she is poor, and his or her children have nothing to eat. As a result, stealing is the way to feed their children. This case needs to apply a light sentence. As a judge, one can pass sentence but one can also help reform a criminal. A judge who convicts a criminal to stay a long time in jail, he does not have a chance to start his life. For example, he or she spends 40 years in prison, no more time for him or her to reintegrate socially. So he or she fails to lead a new life after leaving prison.

In conclusion, while there are several benefits when the wrongdoers should be given a long time of life imprisonment, I believe that the government should figure out the causes of crime and give the prisoner a chance to start again.