Some people think that criminals should be given longer terms in prison, so as to reduce the crime rate.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Human society goes with crime. That is why we see prisons everywhere in the world. Some people think a longer term for criminals is good. They have reasons but we also need justice to have some mercy. I would like to present some of my ideas about it.

We live in a society and everyone loves a safe and fair society. People work for a better life and themselves and the next generation. However, we all see the bad side of human society. Bad people violate the social rules and harm others. The reasons can be explained with greed, cruelty, selfishness…we all need law abiding citizens who are ready to apply the necessary measures to punish the bad doers. Those people who work for justice system such as police offices and judges are the ones to put the law into practice. And no one is above the law. The leaders who accept bribery or a resident who hurts other are brought to court and get the punishment for their crime. We all hate crying injustice and some prefer longer term of prison as a warning of the lawful society.

Bad doers commit a crime and their action is unacceptable. But in the fact the causes of crime should be considered so that we have a fair trial. Some crime are done intentionally, some are not. It is fair not to punish a crime without knowing its cause. In some cases a light sentence is applied. I would like to stress the fact that punishment is used to educate a criminal to live better. Mercy is needed. If he or she is punished with a suitable prison time, the criminal even thanks the judge for sending him to prison. The criminal can turn a new leaf in his life after serving his prison time. And it goes with good justice.

We hope to build a lawful society and we also need a humane one which can give opportunity to everyone else. Therefore, I think a suitable prison term is better than a longer one.