More and more people work from home and study from home with the development of computer technology. Do you think it is positive or negative development?
It is true that the Internet has become an important part of modern life. Telecommuting,
which means working from home with the help of telephone lines, and, online and distance
education have become very common. This situation has both, advantages as well as
disadvantages.
The most important benefit is that it saves time and money of employees and students.
They don’t need to waste time going and coming from work or college. They save on the
fare also. What is more, they can set their own timetable of work and study. On top of that,
people find more time for their hobbies and family commitments. This situation also
benefits the physically challenged and those living in remote areas. You can get online
education from any university in any part of the world and you can work for any office in
any corner of the world. So, technology has given birth to many opportunities for many
people for whom none existed earlier. In this sense it is narrowing the bridge between the
rich and the poor.
Another big advantage is to the environment. As less people have to move out of their
homes, less petrol and diesel is used and less pollution is caused. Traffic congestion, which is
a big problem in the cities, is also lessened. We all know that at peak hours, traffic moves at
a snail’s pace because of which people are forced to slow down the tempo of life even in
this fast-paced world.
On the negative side, there is a decrease in face to face communication which is isolating us
socially. Working alone from home can be very boring at times. When you are in a proper
office, there is a work atmosphere which keeps you going. Moreover, I do not think it is
possible for a computer to be as effective as a real teacher. Many jobs and subjects involve
physical action. For example, it would not be possible to study dance or drama without
contact with others. If everybody worked and studied from home, imagine how unhealthy
and lazy they would become.
To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that technology has eased our life in many ways
and this is both a negative as well as a positive development but on the whole the positive
side outweighs the negative side.