Everyone should become vegetarian because they do not need to eat meat to have a healthy diet. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people think that they should prefer vegetables rather than meats for their regular meals in order to ensure their health. While this trend brings some benefits, I would argue that it is healthier for humans to balance their diet with both vegetables and meats.

On the one hand, eating plant-based food is advantageous to some extent. Firstly, vegetarian diet is likely to help people to have lower risk of developing chronic diseases such as obesity, diabetes, heart diseases and some forms of cancer. This is due to the fact that unlike meats, plant foods are typically low in fat and high in fiber which are easier for human stomach to digest and do not provide excessive energy for them. Secondly, being vegetarian also properly gives people adequate nutrition. For example, raw spinach is a great source of vitamins such as vitamin A, K, and E, hence, instead of eating some many kind of foods to obtain these nutrients, people just need to eat a bowl of spinach for their whole day.

On the other hand, I believe that consuming meats is also healthy for human-being for some reasons. The principle one is that were children not to eat meat, they would suffer from a lack of protein to meet their energy needs. As the result, they would be sick or not be in the peak condition to take part in outdoor activities or pay attention to their studies. Another factor that should be taken into account is that traditional Vietnamese cooking is not suitable for vegetarianism. Instead of being stir-fried or steamed, foods are often boiled or deep-fried that may lose some nutrients of food, therefore, people should change their way of cooking or adopt non-vegetarian food.

In conclusion, although vegetarian diet is beneficial in some ways, it seems to me that meats are still of importance of people’s life so that it is necessary to eat both meats and vegetable so as to have good health.