Everyone should stay in school until they reach the age of 18 To what extent do you agree or disagree

There is a growing debate that whether eighteen or fourteen should be the mandatory school age. Even though there are benefits from finishing compulsory education at the age of as early as fourteen for some developing and underdeveloped countries, extending students’ commitment to their education until the age of eighteen is indeed more sensible that ensures students more prospective futures.

Those who believe having students study until the age of fourteen is sufficient argue that their opinion can help address the burning poverty issues in some countries. For example, in India and Bangladesh, a large percentage of the population is living below the poverty line, which is lower than five dollars earned per day. As a consequence, many Indian and Bangladeshi children have to stop schooling at the age of fourteen or fifteen to join the workforce to support their families financially. Therefore, it is reasonable for some underprivileged countries to shorten the length of their compulsory education in exchange for improvements in the living standard.

However, I believe compulsory education should be prolonged until the age of eighteen to prepare students for better futures. Eighteen is the age that marks the biological transition from being an adolescent to an adult. At this age, students are sufficiently mature in their knowledge and thinking to be responsible for their own lives. Consequently, they can decide to start to make their living or continue to study for even brighter careers. If students stop their studies at earlier ages, their careers are not likely to flourish since they still lack essential knowledge and life skills that normally do not come before the age of eighteen. Hence, requiring students to study until at least the age of eighteen is essential for their later successes.

In conclusion, the eighteen-year-old compulsory education is deemed to have more advantages in students’ lives. Leaders of underprivileged countries should find solutions to improve their economies promptly, instead of having their students stop their education at an early age, which can deprive their students of bright careers ahead.