Some today argue that schools are no longer necessary because children can learn so much from the internet and be educated at home.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that distance learning can completely replace in-class school for young children. Personally, I totally disagree with it because it can put children at risk of being exposed to harmful online content and losing their childhood.

First of all, not all content on the internet is suitable for young children. Today, anyone with a smartphone in hand can effortlessly share posts on the internet with almost no restriction. This autonomy in sharing content online has been flooding the internet with a plethora of unverified information that is potentially harmful to children to learn. Also, since children tend to be curious about everything, there is a high chance that children will click on adult content if they spend too much time online. Hence, studying online at home may not be the optimal option for young children.

Furthermore, children will lose a significant part of their childhood if they do not spend time in school with their classmates. School is not only a place to impart knowledge. Moreover, this is where children have their first friendships and learn the first lessons on how to live in harmony with others. The pure joys of playing together during the break time, skipping class to have ice creams, or having small squabbles in class will be unforgettable memories that cannot be taught if children only study at home. Therefore, since distance learning can deprive young children of having the best childhood and school memories, distance learning should not be a substitute for traditional education.

With all mentioned above, I strongly believe distance learning should not be a replacement for in-school education due to the questioning appropriateness of online information to young children and the risk of losing childhood. Children have the right to receive the best education, and I do not think that study solely online and at home will give this right to them.