Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment What can governments do to address these problems What can individual people do

Environment protection has been a heated discussion ever since human beings entered the Era of Industry. Many experts now claim that our environment is under great threats, many of which are related to human activities. In this essay, I will list some of the causes resulting to environmental deterioration, and try to explore some possible actions so simple that even a single society member can take to protect our planet.

Needless to say, global warming arising from our dependence on fossil fuel is getting severe these days. The unstoppable advances in technology not only greatly enhance our living standards, but encourage materialism as well, including people's preferences to buy private cars, dependence on electrical devices such as air conditioners and refrigerators. All of them add to soaring amounts of carbon dioxide emissions.

Besides that, deforestation for more farming lands has put our world under the threat of desertification. Some scientists estimate that one-third of our world's arable lands have turned into deserts. Heavy use of all sorts of fertilizers degrades the soil, pollutes our drinking water. Last but not least, endangered animals and plants are disappearing at an alarming rate, since human constructions like office buildings, dams, and wind farms interfere with many animals’ migration patterns, posing dangers to other animals on the food chain.

However, I believe even some simple changes from the individual level can make a change to delay, even reverse many damages caused by humans. These changes include more use of recyclable bags instead of plastic ones when shopping, eating more vegetables instead of meat since the latter takes as much as 5 times of resources to grow than the former. When going home from work, people can rely more on public transportations such as buses, subways, bicycles from the bike-sharing scheme, all of which are clean, affordable, and environmental-friendly.

To sum up, even if we have damaged the environment in many ways, simple changes in our life still play an important role to protect it.