In the past people used to travel to see the difference from their home country However the sceneries in places around the world seem similar nowadays What are the causes of these similarities Do you think that the advantages of this similarity outweigh t

Nowadays, many tourists are complaining about the similarity in cultural and natural spots all over the world. I believe that there are several causes behind this phenomenon and that it is not necessarily to be a bad thing.

Firstly, many resort managers tend to believe that there are certain elements in common in terms of attracting travelers. For example, they assume all people would be surprised by a spectacular waterfall, an ancient castle or a historical battlefield. In this regard, sceneries have become similar due to that false assumption.

Secondly, the tourism market depends on customers’ dominant preference, leading tourism offices to build modern yet uniform constructions like sightseeing stands, telpher routs and souvenir shops, all of which reduce the cultural diversity of a unique landscape.

Lastly, gentrifying all places with a particular style could be more economical. Many national parks look the same because people just plant more ordinary trees in there without considering each place’s uniqueness.

From my perspective, the merits of alike scenes are more the shortcomings. Admiteedly similar scenery gives people the opportunity to experience the world with a low cost, benefiting those who are passionate about touring far but could not afford it. Nevertheless, even if they could feel when they are sight-seeing in another country, they could not immerse themselves in the culture and history, losing the significance of traveling because what they see is not so different from their hometowns. Another drawback is that the economy of some tourism-driven countries such as Thailand, would be affected if other places copy their styles and cultural scenery.

In conclusion, several things lead to the issue, and I assume the disadvantages of the alike scenery outweigh the advantage, for the industry would be damaged and tourists’ experience would be worsened.