Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

Since life is a miracle and all is dependent on each other in the nature, it is reasonable for society to make efforts to save endangered species. However, human activities which potentially result in extinction of those species are aim for our economic development which is an important part of social development. Thus society should consider how to realize sustainable development, saving endangered species which are necessary for ecological balance and at the same time keeping economic development which is a basis for people's life.

Life is equal and we human being is just a part of natural chain, however, the original vulnerable ecological balance is being destroyed by our greedy and ignorance.Under the humans' power, the ecological balance that the nature organized for several billion years has been broken. More and more species are in danger to become extinct since many human activities which have detrimental for species such as deforestation, land reclamation, killing of animals... For instance, the matter of oil spill in gulf of Mexico, ignoring the international community's strong condemning Japan's killing a large number of whales ... All these lead more and more species in the ocean to become extinct.

From the industry revolution, although people have a powerful strength to change the nature for economic development, what the following are various forms of pollution such as air pollution, water pollution,solid pollution and so on. All these bring a large detrimental effect to the earth where people depend on to live. And people are revenged by the nature: air pollution has a bad effect on people's health; the climate's always changing make people uncomfortable; the trend of submerged land as the sea level has been rising threatens people who live near those lands to give up their homes...

However, sometimes people have to do these activities for economic development which is a basis for people's better life. Look back to agricultural era, compared to the industrial age, there must be much fewer endangered species, however, people that time did not have such a good life as people in the industrial age accordingly. With the development of times, people tend to live a better life and at this progress, to some degree it is necessary to do some activities which potentially result in extinction of some species. Take forests as an example. People used paper which made from forests instead of using heavy bamboos to record things. It had more detrimental effect on endangering forests, however, at the same time it was more convenient for people to record things. In fact, it is an inevitable trend from agricultural era to the industrial age and to some extent it is inevitable to pay the cost of scarifying some species.

In conclusion, to some extent, it is reasonable for society to make efforts to save endangered species which are necessary to ecological balance, since it is because not only that people should not deprive any species' right to life, but people's life also depend on this vulnerable ecological balance. However, it is an inevitable trend to develop economy to live people a better life which sometimes must pay the cost of scarifying some species. The best way is to make a balance between them, thus making the development be sustainable.

I concede that, in certain instances, tradition must yield entirely to the utilitarian needs of modern life. This is true especially when it comes to architectural traditions and the value of historic and archeological artifacts. A building of great historic value might be located in the only place available to a hospital desperately needing additional parking area. An old school that is a prime example of a certain architectural style might be so structurally unsafe that the only practicable way to remedy the problem would be to raze the building to make way for a modern, structurally sound one. And when it comes to bridges whose structural integrity is paramount to public safety, modernization often requires no less than replacement of the bridge altogether. However, in other such cases architecturally appropriate retrofits can solve structural problems without sacrificing history and tradition, and alternative locations for new buildings and bridges can be found in order to preserve tradition associated with our historic structures. Thus, even in architecture, tradition and modernization are not necessarily mutually exclusive options.分页标题#e#

To sum up, in no area of human endeavor need modernization supplant, reject, or otherwise exclude tradition. In fact, in our modern structures, architecture and other art, and especially languages and law, tradition is embraced, not shunned.