In a number of countries some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport Discuss both th

For many people around the world, the preferred method of transportation is high-speed rail. Commuters travelling to and from work rely on the safety and efficiency, while tourists appreciate the convenience and novelty that trains provide. Others believe that highways, buses and regular trains should be improved before new, high-speed lines are added.

Safety is chief among concerns for those who travel to work or school on a regular basis. If you drive a car, you’d have to concentrate on the road to avoid accidents. High-speed rail allows the commuter to leave the driving to the professional controlling the train and to get some work done while getting to work safely. In addition, people tend to move further and further away from city centres, where land and houses are more affordable. High-speed rail allows these commuters to travel greater distances in a shorter amount of time. There is a flow-on effect here, because if we can reduce the number of cars on the road, traffic jams and road delays could also be cut down.

Some people object to the idea of constructing high-speed rail because high-speed trains are expensive.And some believe this money could be spend on repairing motorways which are used by cars, busses and motorcycles. Another possibility would be to use this money to build more regular commuter trains and buses to serve the ever-expanding urban populations and cope with the increasing traffic pressure inside the urban area, moreover, boats and ferries could benefit from a budget which focuses more on existing forms of transport.

In the end, public transport is an issue which affects us all. The taxes which we pay should be spent on the type of transport which benefits all citizens the most. In addition, we need to take into account how much the environment is damaged by fossil fuels and pollution, therefore, I believe in order to move forward, we need to embrace the idea of high-speed rail so that future generations can continue to live safely and efficiently.