The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Undoubtedly, one of the foremost and paramount ambitions of all human beings is being prosperous, and they always make an effort to attain this purpose. However, calmness has different meaning among people, and there are a lot of factors that have effect on it. Indeed, family plays a significant role in people’s life. While some of people believe that extended family is less important now than it was in the past, other agree with the obverse idea. Nevertheless, in my point of view, although extended family is less important now but having extended family can be great.

Today, extended family is less important now because of some important and critical reasons, which are related with modern life. One of the most important factors is independence, people likes being independent and they want to experiment and explore, decide and live lonely. I don’t know is there psychological evidence to explain this behavior or not but this is my own experience that my brothers and my friends and also everyone that I know like independent life, they want to make and spend their money and they like to make decision for their life. Another important factor is modern life conditions, good job is not available always in our hometown and people go to another city and this is reason for abandonment of family, also new house are small to living a lot of people and they are always designed for two or three persons. Communication tools are simply available and we can contact with our family several times and speak with all of them, so distance is not a big problem. Last year I was in Tehran and my family lived in Khoy, my mother called me all time and we spoke about daily events, really I thought that I am in home.

In spite what mentioned before, it is not debatable that extended family has numerous advantages, this is so exciting to live with all family in the same house, actually this is like you are in the family party all day, this is crowded and noisy but it’s time for happiness and overcome to anxiety. When I was growing up we lived with my father’s family, children were able to play all the time with each other and we always were happy and healthy. Our family was a big and members solved their problem together and if someone had a problem other men or women helped and there wasn’t any pressure on that person. Extended family makes an effort to solve each member’s problem and responsibility and respect is important aspect of these families. In the extended family works divided between members and each person has specific works, for instance I was responsible for buying bread and my brother bought milk every day, and all kids helped each other in school homework. According to this reasons some people believe that live in extended family isn’t less important than it was in the past.

In recapitulation, each person depending on his characteristics and temperaments believe that what living form is good for him or his family. However, in my point of view the extended family is now less important than it was in the past because of modern life style.