Extreme sports such as sky diving and skiing are very dangerous and should be banned.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While some adventurous people enjoy the excitement from participating in extreme sports such as skiing and sky diving, some other people think the government should prohibit these sports because they are life-threatening. I completely disagree with this statement.

Firstly, everyone has the freedom of participating in a certain sport. In modern society, we value freedom of speech, freedom of sexual orientation, so why not freedom of sport? Although playing extreme sports is very dangerous for those who have limited knowledge and experience, a full growth individual should be able to assess the risk before they decide to play a sport. Moreover, people play extreme sport for different reasons, some for the joy and excitement, and some for reducing stress level. Therefore, the government has no authority to interrupt people’s freedom of choosing a sport.

Secondly, it is meaningless for the government to legislate the prohibition of extreme sport and there are more the government can do and not banning it. If there has never had a law or policies about people engaging in some detrimental habits such as smoking and drinking, why playing a sport should be banned? There are more alternatives for the governments to reduce the injuries and death rate caused by playing extreme sport, such as education. For instance, Spain government required people to attend training courses before playing an extreme sport, these training courses usually involve the risk of participating in extreme sport, the safety instruction or other related knowledge about a sport.

To sum up, I once again reaffirm my position on extreme sport should not be banned because of people’s freedom of choosing a sport and more meaningful alternatives for the government to do to reduce death rate rather than just banning it.