Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people believe that it is meaningless to learn about history in modern society. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this statement. In this essay, I will discuss why learning history is important and how is it valuable.

Firstly, learning history contributes to human development because human learn from mistakes. People learn how to avoid making the same mistake by studying history, we often look at the mistake made by our ancestors and develop a better approach for certain issue. For example, in 1989, the Chinese government sent out tanks to “evacuate” the protesters and students at Tiananmen Square, who were trying to advocate democracy and freedom, thousands of students died because of that incident. Other students who learned about this incident could understand the values of freedom of speech and democracy and developed different approaches, such as working in a government department or actively vote for their leaders to advocate these values.

Secondly, studying history also gives us an insight into the origin of culture. By learning about the causes and effects of events in history, people can learn better ways to deal with conflict among nations and individuals. Moreover, learning history and culture is important for some occupations. For instance, every social work student is required to study about the history of the Aboriginal communities to avoid culturally inappropriate practice, registered social workers also have to acknowledge the rights of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander before they actually enter the work field. Furthermore, learning a different culture by studying history can avoid one culture being extinct in modern society. Especially with the effect of globalization, the risk of a culture disappearing has increased.

To sum up, learning history has lots of values even though we are living in present, these values include avoiding to repeat the same mistake and protecting a culture which is at risk of disappearing.